Sri Lanka Issues Free Visas for Chinese Tourists

Sri Lanka’s cabinet of ministers has approved a proposal from the Sri Lanka Tourism Ministry to include China in its free visa policy to attract more chinese tourists to Sri Lanka. 

According to Mr. John Amaratunga, minister of tourism development and wildlife of Sri Lanka, this will be launched from 1 August 2019.
“China is one of our main markets. Despite the setback from the Easter Sunday attacks, I am sure this year we will be able to achieve our targets. From 1 August, Chinese tourists can come to Sri Lanka without a visa fee and we see this as a landmark decision for the tourism industry.”

Not only for China but also 39 of other countries such as India, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic,Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, German, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Malaysia, Netherlands, Norway, New Zealand, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Singapore, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom and United States of America entitled for the free visa policy.  

Published Date